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 Your Ultimate Digital Ads Jargon and Acronym Buster

Your Ultimate Digital Ads Jargon and Acronym Buster

November 11, 20224 min read

Also known as 'DAJ&AB' - we marketers love an acronym 😆

Need to get your head around all these buzzwords? 

It's true that we love to 'flex' our jargon - and we admit that some might not be quite as obvious as others!

As we throw around buzzwords and acronyms we often get asked "What on earth does that all mean?"

Here's your ultimate digital advertising jargon and acronym buster! We've not only translated some of these terms but we've added some descriptions, and even some advertising tips in here 😜

Conversion

A product sale, a sign-up of some sort, or simply contacting your business

Funnel

A way customers are filtered down until a conversion is made, this goes to from Top of Funnel (TOF), Middle of Funnel (MOF) to Bottom of Funnel (BOF)

Top of funnel (TOF) Campaigns

Sometimes called ‘Prospecting’ campaigns, because they’re the kind of ads that are put out there to find potential customer and bring them into your funnel

Middle of Funnel (MOF) Campaigns

Ad creatives that act as reminders to the customer, while adding some extra reasons as to why they should continue to consider what you’re offering

Bottom of Funnel (BOF) Campaigns

Ad creatives that are shown to those who have really come close to buying from you. Your ads should work hard to turn this potential customer into an actual customer, driving home confidence and switching to sales tactics that convert

Target audience

Defining the demographics and interests of who you want your awareness ads to be shown to

Call to action (CTA)

Prompt a response from customers, this could be visiting the website, calling the store or creating a transaction

Retargeting

Showing ads to customers that have already been targeted in order for them to convert

Return-on-ad-spend (ROAS)

How much money your ads make vs how much you spent. As an example, let’s assume you spend £100 on advertising, and you generate £200 in sales - this would give you a ROAS of 2.

Learning Phase

The time an ad platform takes to find the right customers for your brand. During this time, ads will cost more, and you might not get the sales you expect

Demographic

Gender, age and spoken languages, can also be specific locations, such as countries, cities or regions

Search Ads

Specific keywords that you want your ad to show for when a user searches for a related term

Carousel Ads

Both an opportunity to show off multiple products or product features, or also to cleverly stitch together multiple images into one that a customer can explore by swiping or scrolling left and right

Lead-Gen Ads

These ads trigger potential customers to display their interest in your products or services, just as filling in a form

Dynamic Ads

Dynamically created ads by the ad platform, based on details you provide. Linked to your site or your product catalogue, it’ll ask you for multiple images, headlines, and snippets of copy that it then tests in multiple ways to find what works best for you

Social Media Shopping/ Immersive Experiences

The ability for users to buy from your store directly within the ads latform - for example clicking your ad in Instagram would load your website or store while still in Instagram

User Generated Content (UGC)

Existing customers, influencers and creators that have produced content featuring your product or service.

Face-To-Camera (F2C)

A person (user, influencer or actor) speaking straight to the camera talking about your product or service

Feature Stack

Used a lot in Amazon listings, it is where you separate the features with commas or vertical bars, this can give lots of information in your product title

Cost Per Acquisition (CPA)/Cost Per Result (CPR)

This is how much you are spending for every conversion. If you’re selling a product through a conversion campaign, A CPA of £10 means every sale you get costs an average £10 in advertising

Vanity Metrics

Reach, impressions, clicks, or any type of engagement that doesn’t result in an actual sale or enquiry.

First-party cookies

Snippets of code embedded on a website or in an app that collect data directly for the website or app owner

Third-party cookies

Snippets of code embedded on a website or app that collect data separately for something like an ad platform

A FREE printable version of this guide is just one of the bonuses included in the 'Succeed With Digital Advertising' Digital Marketing Pro course!  Tried and tested strategies for highly creative and targeted ad campaigns THAT DELIVER RESULTS - that’s sales, growth, and success!

A FREE printable version of this guide is just one of the bonuses included in the 'Succeed With Digital Advertising' Digital Marketing Pro course!

Tried and tested strategies for highly creative and targeted ad campaigns THAT DELIVER RESULTS - that’s sales, growth, and success!

Got any other terms confusing you? 

Get in touch and let us know, and we'll feature them in future posts!

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